top of page
Search
  • maymonthein

Journal 1


This isn‘t something that took place directly in my life but it’s a story my mom told me. My parents had lived in Burma their whole lives, but were faced with moving to Hawaiʻi when my dad wanted to pursue an education here. My mom was pregnant with me at the time, but she didn’t want to live so far away from my dad. She ended up making the difficult decision to leave her family behind and travel here by herself with a four month old child. We had only one relative here, my grand aunt, and she could only offer so much help. My parents faced many hardships that seemed impossible to move past at the time. My mom remembers missing everyone at home and wishing she could go back. She didn’t think she would be able to make it and raise a child in a strange place almost completely alone. That was about 15 years ago. As it turns out, she could do everything she was afraid she couldn’t do. Things weren’t always easy, but my parents were able to provide a good education for me and encourage me to pursue whatever I’m passionate about. We have each other and a home here in Hawaiʻi where I will eventually grow up and start a family. I am thankful for everything both my parents did and I especially admire my mom’s courage and ability to persevere in the face of a situation that is difficult to overcome. In hearing this story, I‘m reminded of how hard work coupled with love can turn an event that might be tragic into something better over time.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page